Vicky, A Jewish Woman Pilot in 1931

only jewish women pilot

In Vicky’s suitcase I found a newspaper clipping, dated October 16, 1931, that was fascinating. Unfortunately, the date doesn’t appear in the copy that I have. I researched it and found the date of the article. It stated that Vicky was the only Jewish women pilot in 1931. She took flying lessons after she traveled. The money to fly came from the Durant and Lederer families. But where did the motivation come from. No one in my family flew a plane but it was the era of Lindbergh and Amelia. Everyone wanted to be up in the air. Women were expected to be in the kitchen and caring for her husband and children. Well, Vicky had no children and her husband had just walked out on her. She had money and her adventurous spirit probably told her why not learn to fly!
I don’t know if she was a practicing Jew or just on the fringes of her religion. My grandparents were orthodox Jews, but my parents were Reform German Jews. This group of Jews were not accepted during this time.
I imagine that Vicky was like her brother my dad. He was a very liberal reform Jew. Still, it was very unusual for a Jewish woman to become a pilot. She was 40 years old when she learned to fly. She was much older than other women who had learned to fly during the 30’s.
This article was in a bulletin from a synagogue called Temple Emanuel. The clipping is so old that all I can see is the end of the temple’s name “uel”. I know that my parents belonged to this temple. It is located in Chicago, near Lake Michigan and is still in existence today. Because this is so ago it is impossible to locate anyone who might have known Vicky.
I have not been able to find any other information about Vicky being one of the only Jewish woman pilots from that era. There were Jewish men that flew in that era only Vicky and a woman named Ruth Elder were pilots. If anyone knows information about any Jewish women pilots in the early 30’s please email me at: Lflyer333@gmail.com.

One thought on “Vicky, A Jewish Woman Pilot in 1931

Leave a comment