More facts about Vicky’s Flying Days

In 1933 Vicky asked the Department of Commerce to change her address from Roosevelt Field Hotel. This was adjacent to the flying field. It is confusing whether Vicky learned to fly at Roosevelt Field or another school. I do know that she had a pass a temporary pass to the air field. This hotel is for pilots that flew out of the field. It was Lindbergh’s field and Amelia’s. I don’t know if Vicky knew them but I’m sure they influenced her. They became icons that influenced pilots that came after them.The Department of Commerce stated that she flew 57 hours and 35 minutes.Another record stated that she lived with my aunt, her sister-in-law at 534 Addison. Then she moved to 420 Diversey Parkway. She lived at so many places. Medical records from 1937 listed she was living with my dad at 392 Frontier.In the last her address was listed as Vicky Lederer % General Delivery, Juneau, Alaska. Ancestry.com listed that Vicky’s worked as a waitress in Juneau. My family told me that Vicky had a flying school in that city. I don’t know the truth. I hope to get more information from the Juneau Historical Museum.

I will add more information in another post. Vicky’s life was such a mystery to me. I am trying to find the truth. If I don’t her life will remain an interesting mystery.

Leave a Reply

