Bert Acosta…Vicky’s Partner?

the autograph says: “Dearest Vicky” all the best of luck-Yours Bert

I found a picture of Bert Acosta in my aunt’s memorabilia. He is in a plane with a note to Vicky. I think he was my aunt’s partner but I don’t know for sure. I know that he was a well-known pilot in the San Francisco area in the 30’s. This one of the places that Vicky flew. So it could be true that they had a flying school in the 30’s. I wish I knew more about their relationship.  He was born in Alameda, California where Vicky participated in the first ground to air refueling. All I can do is write about him from Ancestry.Com and from stories about him from the internet. Even if he wasn’t Vicky’s partner he is an interesting person to know.

I am listing Berta Acosta’s achievements even though he probably wasn’t Vicky’s partner. Obviously, Vicky knew him or knew about him. I say that the women pilots should be a household name. Same goes for male pilots. Bert Acosta is known by few today. He should be. That’s why I am writing about him.

Accomplishments:

  • 1917 test flew open-cockpit planes
  • 1918 surveyed and mapped first airmail routes
  • 1920 laid first Airmail route from new York to San Francisco
  • 1920 delivered the first Transcontinental Airmail in record time 36 hours
  • 1921 won the Pulitzer Trophy Race
  • 1921 record airspeed of 176.9 miles per hour
  • 1927 Brook world and U.S. endurance record with rClarence Chamberlin (51 hous 25 seconds)
  • 1927 Record setting War
  • 1936 head of Yankee Squadron in the Spanish Civil War

Acosta earned the nickname of “Bad Boy of the Air” because he tried flying under the Whitemore Memorial Bridge on Long Island He was fined and lost his license.

Vicky’s partner maybe? I doubt it but the picture and signature are really interesting. What a couple they might have been.I say that the women pilots should be a household name. Same goes for male pilots. Bert Acosta is known by few today. He should be. That’s why I am writing about him.