Letters I Wrote To Find Vicky

In order to find the answers to my curious mind I took every name and addresses from her papers and wrote letters to each person. I sent 100 letters. This was in 1986 before I knew anything about email. In each letter I was hoping to find someone who knew of Vicky.

I found the number of Anne Lindbergh the wife of Charles Lindbergh. I was amazed to find her address and phone number in a book at a public library. After her baby was kidnapped and killed and the killed. Bruno Hauptmann, the killer was executed the Lindberghs went into seclusion and then moved to Germany. So it seemed odd that Mrs. Lindbergh would have her home address available. The following is the letter I received.

Scott’s Cove 

Darian, CT. 06820

March 14, 1988

Cynthia Florsheim

Dear Ms. Florsheim,

Mrs. Lindbergh has asked me to reply to your letter concerning the research you are doing about your aunt, Victorine Lederer.

Since women pilots were rare in the 20’s and 30’s, Mrs. Lindbergh feels she or her husband probably knew of her splendid career. She regrets, however, that she has no additional information to give you.

Sincerely Yours,

Nancy O. Matheiu

Sec. to Mrs. Lindbergh

At the time of my letter Anne a very exclusive town.  Charles had died and Anne was in poor health so the reply was written by Anne’s secretary.

A second reply came from Edna Gardner Whyte. She was well-known in the 30’s. At the time of her letter she owned an airport in Texas.  Like Mrs. Lindbergh she knew that Vicky was the only woman Jewish pilot.  She owned an airport called Friendly Aero Valley Airport. Route #9 Box 16-D, Roanoke, Texas 76262. Unfortunately, she was up in years and didn’t know any thing else about Vicky. She said that she had a lot of her memorabilia stored away and she was not able to look any other information about Vicky. She wished me luck.

Another reply came from a man named Irwin Wagstaff. He told me information that he said Vicky told him. It doesn’t seem to tell the same history that I had mound in Ancestry and from my aunt’s memorabilia He said ” Vicky had a pilot’s license. (of course, that is true.) The other isn’t. He continued in his letter to me “Vicky told him that her husband was a ship’s captain on a sailing ship out of New York and that he had passed away at sea. He added that “Vicky was a very special lady.”

A 3rd. letter was from a surgeon who only saw my aunt one time. He replied to my letter with these wonderful words..”There was something about her charm that was unusual. This must seem strange that I would recall an event so long ago when I had seen so many desperately ill post-operative patients.”

A response I found didn’t have the any name… only the address…3139 Qualtwork San Diego. This person said ” She was always nicely dressed and well spoken. We could see that she had been well brought up. She told me that she was a pilot a long time ago. I think this letter was from her landlord in San Diego. These names came from Vicky’s address book. Not all of the names where friends or acquaintances.  Some were doctors or businesses. I knew it was a shot in the dark. I also understood that I wanted to try to “Find Vicky.”

Now I am trying again. Even if I find a relative they may have no information about Vicky. I hope to find even one person that knew of my aunt.

Below are the letters and addresses that I wrote to find Vicky. I sent these letters in 1986 when my father died and I received her memorabilia. Of course, these people are very elderly or have passed away. I received a few unusual replies.

I also received a letter from a pilot named Edna Gardner Whyte. When I wrote her she owned an airport in a small town in Texas. She wrote that she remembered Vicky was the only Jewish pilot but she also didn’t remember anything else.

The next reply came from a man named Irwin Wagstaff. He told me information that he said Vicky told him. It doesn’t seem to tell the same history that I had found in Ancestry and from my aunt’s memorabilia He said ” Vicky had a pilot’s license. (of course, that is true.) The other isn’t. He continued in his letter to me “Vicky told him that her husband was a ship’s captain on a sailing ship out of New York and that he had passed away at sea. He added that “Vicky was a very special lady.”

A surgeon who only saw my aunt one time. He replied to my letter with these wonderful words..”There was something about her charm that was unusual. This must seem strange that I would recall an event so long ago when I had seen so many desperately ill post-operative patients.

Another arrived with only an address…3139 Qualtwork San Diego. The letter said “She was always nicely dressed and well spoken. We could see that she had been well brought up. She told me that she was a pilot a long time ago. I think this letter was from her landlord in San Diego.

The other replies were negative.  Either I never heard from the them or my letters came back.

I sent over one hundred letters.  Some were to friends or acquaintances and others were to doctors or businesses. I will list ten each post because there are too many to list all at once.

Leave a Reply

