Vicky and Air Races

wpid-air-race-ribbon.jpg.jpegVicky and Air Races

In Vickys paraphernalia I found a small ribbon that stated MIAMI ALL AMERICAN AIR RACES. I researched it and found that the date was January 8-10, 1931. I never found any other information. I don’t know if her standing. Obviously, she didn’t win or it would have been documented.

I don’t know if she was in any other races.

The 20’s were a time of air circuses and barnstorming, the 30’s began a time of air races. Before….women weren’t allowed to race with men. I told you about the first all women air race..the PowderPuff Derby. After that women in races were very common.

I have already told you the story of The Powderpuff Derby. I researched women’s air races in the 30’s but found no mention of Vicky. The only thing I found was the ribbon for the Miami air race. I assume that Vicky didn’t enter any races. If yu have any information about Vicky being an air race participant please let me know. Her full name is Victorine Florsheim Lederer.

Leave a Reply

