Why Did Vicky Become A Pilot?

 

That’s a question I can’t completely answer, I do know what influenced her. She had the money from lessons even to buy her own plane. She was adventurous,  and fearless. Vicky learned to fly in 1930.  Remember, it was only a few years since Lindbergh’s famous flight. Everyone wanted to be up In the air.

I don’t know how Vicky’s parents reacted to the news that Vicky was learning to fly. I never knew my grandparents on my father’s side. They passed away before I was born. She was the black sheep of the family. Also, Vicky was forty years old when she learned to fly. She was much older than other women pilots.

learning to fly.

Lindbergh and Amelia became superstars. Many men had learned to fly in WWI but wo e  were relegated the kitchen  and the nursery. That was changing slowly.

Most men didn’t want their wives to fly.

Leave a Reply

