Change is In The Air As Women Fly

Vicky learned to fly in 1930.  After reading am article by pilot and writer Margery Brown found many similarities between the two women. I wonder if they had the same challenges learning to fly. Both women were very short…Vicy 5″1′ and 105 pounds and  Margery was four feet  eleven inches tall. Most people learned on the old World War 1 Jenny, or a JN-4, a trainer plane used during the war. I found it interesting how Margery described her first solo flight. Maybe Vicky would have said the same. Margery said, “on my first solo flight I had in the cockpit two doll mattresses, two leather cushion, and a cretonne pillow; six-inch extensions on the rudder-bard, and a piece of rope to tie me in Maybe Vicky would have had the same equipment! Margery’s  article is about more than the description of her difficulties in flying. The article is a description of  why women fly and how flying changed women. Every word is a tribute to women’s courage and tenacity to learn to fly. Men made this occupation difficult but women pushed through to learn and soar. Margery was asked why she learned to fly and replied “half-way between the earth and sky, one seems to e closer to God. There is a peace of mind and hear, a satisfaction which walls can not give. When I see an airplane flying I just ache all over to be up in the air.” I don’t know if Margery is speaking to me or if it is my own voice. Maybe, it’s Vicky’s. I took one introductory flight lesson and just loved it. I’ll tell you about that experience in another post. Last month I applied for a scholarship to learn to fly. I won’t know till next year if I gt it. Hope so. Not too many other women in my age group applied. I have a chance and I can learn. That’s another story too. I was thinking of applying for the girl  scout merit badge in aviation. If I were allowed I’d be the oldest scout to get that badge. Another time..another story. Do you see why I’m like Vicky and Margery? Again I’m just A PLANE NUT.” In tomorrow’s post I will continue to tell you how “Flying Is Changing Women. In the 1930’s.  If you could ask your Great or Great great Grandmothers you know that I am right. Come and learn the tremendous change in women. BLUE SKIES TO ALL…TILL TOMORROW.

Leave a Reply

